One thing the Lakers will never be…drama free

I may no longer live in LA, but I am fairly certain I’ll be a die hard Lakers fan until the day I die. That being said, as someone who generally prefers to limit the drama in her life, it’s interesting that my sports teams tend to be among the most drama-filled in their respective sports. Just look at the Lakers. Big game against the Spurs tonight – but who will show up? I swear sometimes that the Lakers players have cloned themselves and we just never know which team we’re going to get – the real thing, or the ‘can’t make an easy shot, get no rebounds completely forgot how to play defense’ clones that sometimes show up – oh, let’s say on Christmas Day for example!

I have a friend who lives in LA and called me on his way to work the Monday after Christmas. He takes the train into downtown and he said that the stop for Staples Center “Chick Hearn Station” was closed that day because a HazMat team was still there trying to clean up the $h^! the Lakers had left all over the place on Saturday – and isn’t it the truth?! What the hell was that?

I honestly wonder sometimes if on some level, the Lakers don’t do this on purpose. I mean, seriously. We know they’re better than that, and so do they, so really – just too much spiked egg nog that day or were they just po’d because they were being forced to work on Christmas Day yet again (not that I blame them for that). Let’s hope they actually show up tonight. Am I worried about them going all the way this year – no, I’m not – because this is what the Lakers have done every year, even their Championship seasons. They tank important games, sometimes quite a few at a time, and everyone gets down on them then they suddenly show up again. It’s quite a ride….here we go!

This entry was posted in Basketball, Lakers, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment