And so it begins…

Sorry I’ve been absent for a while. I had my baby and time, well, life actually, got away from me a bit, but I have returned. Today I start back to work. It’s funny, I commented on a blog just today where a woman was saying that she shouldn’t have to justify being a stay-at-home-mother. All I could think was what a joke! I mean, sure, if you’re a SAHM you probably don’t have a massive commute or back-stabbing co-worker to deal with, but aside from that being a SAHM is as much, if not more work than any other job out there!

I work in a job in my chosen career full-time, but I am fortunate enough to be able to work from home. Just coming back from maternity leave I can tell you – being at work in my office (either my husband or a “helper” assisting with the boys) is like a “break” and far easier than the work I did being alone and at home full-time. Anyone who thinks SAHMs have it easy should try it themselves for a few weeks!

In any case, I’m off my soapbox now and excited to be back at work. I have also gotten clearance from my Dr. to cautiously resume normal activities. I had, and am still having, some major medical issues during and after the pregnancy – but that’s a whole other post. So, I’ve cleaned out the house, filled it with healthy foods, made sure my gym membership is up to date and joined Weight Watchers. Yes, Weight Watchers. I’m sure I’ll be ridiculed by some of you for that, but there it is. Yesterday was my first day on the program, but I’ve done it before, years ago, so I’m familiar. I just know that I’ve got to get healthy. I’ve always struggled with my weight, and it’s gotten worse over the past several years as I’ve struggled through some personal issues which really destroyed my self-esteem. Being called a “fat cow” every time you turn around is never good, but it’s even worse when the person calling you names is also attempting to steal your husband. (No, she didn’t succeed. 🙂 ) In fact, my husband is being very supportive and has even joined with me so that he can help me out and get back into shape himself.

Thus begins my weight loss journey. I know I can do it, I’ve done it before, but it is a challenge. I’m guessing even more of a challenge now that I’m over 40 with 2 children – so if you have any advice to offer, I’m all ears – please fire away!

This entry was posted in Children, Family, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And so it begins…

  1. Daria says:

    I think weight watchers is a pretty good program with the best part being taking control of portions and changing types of foods. I found that after awhile I wasn’t motivated any more, so didn’t want to pay $10 a week to see the scale sit still or go up – but when motivated it was great!

    Come join our facebook group – it’s pretty much the same as a weight watchers meeting, just available all week. Here’s my post about my weight loss struggle… UGH! http://www.mominmanagement.com/3525/empty-the-trunk-recommitting/

  2. Our Mom Spot says:

    Good luck Lynnette. Weight loss = calorie intake < calorie input.

  3. Hey – it’s @imaginationsoup – just reading through your blog.

    It’s hard to lose weight. What worked for me — when I had time (ha) was 20 minutes of cardio in the morning and 20 minutes at night. My trainer said it reved up my metabolism. Plus weights. Plus eating healthy but not any crazy diet.

  4. Betsy Henry says:

    Welcome back to the blogging world!!

Leave a Reply

